In 1997 Delhi government formed Delhi vidyut board (DVB) for the generation and distribution of electricity in National Capital Territory of Delhi. In the year 2002 on 1st July The Delhi Vidyut Board (DVB) was divided into six  companies named as Delhi Power Supply Company Limited (DPCL)- Holding Company, Delhi Transco Limited (DTL) – TRANSCO, Indraprastha Power Generation Company Limited (IPGCL) – GENCO, BSES Rajdhani Power Limited (BRPL) – DISCOM, BSES Yamuna Power Limited (BYPL) – DISCOM and North Delhi Power Limited (NDPL) - DISCOM.

In that same year of 2002 power sector of BSES underwent privatization and the business of power distribution was transferred to BSES-Rajdhani-Power-Ltd. and BSES-Yamuna-Power-Ltd. also called as BRPL and BYPL respectively. These two companies are successfully catering to the Electricity needs of approximately 28.34 lacs consumers in Delhi.  BSES has donated more than Rs. 4500 crore for augmenting and promoting the infrastructure that was resulted in the record reduction of Aggregate Technical and Commercial losses (AT&C losses). The bill payment techniques of BSES are very fast and easy for its customers, both online and offline payment methods are available to ensure instant bill payment.

BRPL - BSES-Rajdhani power Ltd. serves to 16.44 lacs costumers distributed over an area of    750 sq km. it supplies electricity to west Delhi and south Delhi that include Alaknanda, Vasant Kunj, Nehru Place, Sarita Vihar, R K Puram, Najafgargh, Punjabi Bagh, Vikas Puri, Khanpur, Saket, Nizamuddin, Hauz Khas, Janakpuri, Nangloi, Mundka and Tagore Garden. BRPL office is located at Nehru place.

BYPL – BSES-Yamuna Power Ltd. Serves to 16.44 lacs costumer in south Delhi and innermost areas of Delhi that include Chandni Chowk, Paharganj, Karkardooma, Laxmi Nagar, Yamuna Vihar, Karawal Nagar, Daryaganj, Shankar Road, G T Road, Mayur Vihar, Nand Nagri and  Krishna Nagar. BYPL office is located in karkardooma, New Delhi.